Home Tags Townsend Prize

Tag: Townsend Prize

Townsend Prize celebrates the best in Georgia fiction

Townsend Prize celebrates the best in Georgia fiction

On April 13, the biannual Townsend Prize for Fiction—named for Atlanta magazine’s founding editor, Jim Townsend—was awarded to Sanjena Sathian for her 2021 novel, The Gold Diggers.
Townsend Prize 2020

Looking for new reads? Check out this year’s Townsend Prize finalists.

Every other year, the Georgia Center for the Book, the Atlanta Writer’s Club, the DeKalb Library Foundation, and Georgia State University Perimeter College’s literary journal the Chattahoochee Review select 10 finalists from works of fiction by Georgia writers.

Townsend Prize: Ten Georgia books vie for the venerable award

Every other year since 1982, Peach State literati have collaborated to determine which Georgia books are deserving of the Townsend Prize, an award that honors great writing (and, incidentally, is named for *Atlanta* magazine’s founding editor, Jim Townsend).

Follow Us