Atlanta designer William Peace brings nature indoors at this Jackson Hole retreat

Houses—and landscapes—don't get more beautiful than this

1433
William Peace home in Tetons at Jackson hole

Photograph by Audrey Hall

Atlanta-based interior designer William Peace of Peace Design knows something about jaw-dropping landscapes. He took on his first project in the West 25 years ago and now splits his time between Atlanta and Bozeman, Montana, with nearly half of his work out West (including second homes for Atlantans, like Arthur Blank’s invitation-only West Creek Ranch). He’s so enamored with the region he bought a popular historic bar in Montana called the Old Saloon.

William Peace home in Tetons at Jackson hole
In the living room, designer Bill Peace sought to create the feel of a great European country house beneath a dramatic vista of the Tetons. Seating includes sofas by Holly Hunt (at back) and Bjork Studio (at right), a club chair from R. Hughes, and a Louis XVIII chair from Robuck & Co. The rug is by Tai Ping.

Photograph by Audrey Hall

William Peace home in Tetons at Jackson hole
The soaking tub in the master bath occupies a window niche for views of the peaks outside; motorized draperies make for easy privacy—not that there’s anyone in sight. A vintage Navajo rug adds color.

Photograph by Audrey Hall

William Peace home in Tetons at Jackson hole
Honed soapstone and a walnut slab countertop give an earthy vibe to the kitchen. Pendants are Ann-Morris.

Photograph by Audrey Hall

Last year, in the foothills of the Tetons in Jackson Hole, Bill took on a project with Harry Howard of Yellowstone Traditions, the same builder behind that very first Western project. Though it’s new construction, the log-and-plank house appears as if it’s been there 100 years, mimicking the look of several small, historic trapper cabins on the 10-acre property, which rustles with aspens beneath endless blue skies in the summer.

Inside, Bill created a rich, layered retreat with the vibe of a European country house for an active family of five. Stone and wood from the area—including fallen lodgepole pines from the site—bring the natural setting indoors, as do the oversize windows in the living room, featuring a dramatic vista of the Tetons. Important works of Western art and vintage Navajo rugs collected from across the West add punchy points of interest, while pieces from Atlanta sources like Bjork Studio, R. Hughes, and Holland & Sherry figure prominently. Materials—leather, iron, velvet, mohair—were meant to wear well. “We want everything to age beautifully,” says Bill. “Ten years from now, it will look even better than today.”

William Peace home in Tetons at Jackson hole
A historic trapper cabin on the 10-acre property inspired the style of the new main house. It now serves as a hangout space near the creek.

Photograph by Audrey Hall

William Peace home in Tetons at Jackson hole
The log-and-plank construction of this house along Fish Creek in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, mimics old homesteader-style cabins. A plunge pool that appears carved into the rocks and a cedar hot tub add to the outdoor diversions. Cushioned seating is by La Lune.

Photograph by Audrey Hall

Resources
Interior design William Peace, Peace Design, peacedesign.com
Architect Peter Zimmerman, pzarchitects.com
Builder Yellowstone Traditions, yellowstonetraditions.com
Living room Sofa at window: Holly Hunt sofa, hollyhunt.com. Sofa fabric: Calvin Fabrics “Luxus Mohair,” calvinfabrics.com. Sofa across from fireplace: Custom by Bjork Studio, bjorkstudio.com. Rug: Tai Ping “Petnet Haley,” houseoftaiping.com. Draperies: De la Cuona “Huckleberry Tweed” by Glass House Atelier, glasshouseatelier.com. Leather club chair: Jean de Merry via R.Hughes, rhughes.com. Pillows: Repurposed antique textiles. Chandelier: Custom by Wil Wilkins, Salmon, Idaho. Louis XIII chair: Robuck & Co., robuck.co.
Master bedroom Chandelier: Rose Tarlow, rosetarlow.com. Draperies: Holland & Sherry, hollandandsherry.com. Rug: Edward Fields, Tai Ping. Headboard: Custom with Lee Jofa “Ultra Suede” fabric. Sofa fabric: Edelman Leather “Royal Suede,” edelmanleather.com. Linens: Gramercy Fine Linens & Furnishings, shopgramercy.com.
Kitchen Pendant lights: Ann-Morris, annmorrislighting.com. Barstools: Hickory Chair Furniture Co., hickorychair.com.
Outdoor seating La Lune Collection, lalunecollection.com.

This article appears in our Summer 2019 issue of Atlanta Magazine’s HOME.

Advertisement