This classical Ansley Park home has strong New England vibes

This turn-of-the-century, right-sized gem welcomes a fresh chapter with a young family

2102
Ansley Park Craftsman
A renovation decades ago converted this former Craftsman bungalow to Federal style. New owners Laura Beth and Drew Gandy were drawn to its classic look along a picturesque street in Ansley Park. “The paint colors were already in place, and since we loved the cool gray with the crisp white, there was no need to change it,” says interior designer Maggie Griffin.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Laura Beth and Drew Gandy were first drawn to the gray-shingled facade of this Ansley Park beauty, with its classical features and well-manicured front yard. “We lived in Boston for three years, and it reminded me of something you’d see in New England,” says Laura Beth. “Even the flow inside feels like a row house there.”

Ansley Park Craftsman
To cozy up the living room, the designer created two distinct seating areas and draped the windows with white linen panels. Furnishings from Lee Industries and Lewis & Sheron are livened up by a Renee Bouchon painting over the sofa, as well as art throughout the house by Drew’s mother, Marietta Petters. “That blue ottoman sets the tone for the room,” says Griffin.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Ansley Park Craftsman
Framed Schumacher panels complement the elegance of decorative molding in the foyer. Griffin layered sisal and vintage rugs for an informal touch. The pocket doors lead to a family room.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Ansley Park Craftsman
Grass cloth warms up walls in the dining room, distinguished by a coffered ceiling and the original fireplace. Chair backs wear Kravet gingham.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Set among the Midtown skyscrapers, the circa-1913 house actually started as a Sears catalog floorplan, similar to the other Craftsman-style houses still along the street. A previous owner, interior designer Mimi Williams, remodeled the house and enclosed the front porch to create more space inside, reimagining the exterior in American Federal style. (The renovation was featured in several magazines, including this one in 2007.)

Inside, elegant touches such as coffered ceilings in the 11-foot-high living and dining rooms and generous molding around doorways fit the historic architecture. The Gandys added a large back deck for relaxing and entertaining.

Ansley Park Craftsman
Schumacher wallpaper and fabric fill the breakfast room area. Performance fabric used on upholstery ensures that spills won’t mess up the crisp look.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Ansley Park Craftsman
The previously redone kitchen was spruced up with subway tile and window treatments that play into the blue-and-white motif.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Ansley Park Craftsman
A duo of handpainted chinoiserie paintings bought on Chairish liven up the serene sitting room. The ebony coffee table is from Serena & Lily.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Laura Beth admits that she’s a traditionalist, so her collaboration with interior designer Maggie Griffin included a deft use of blue and white, colorful fabrics, vintage china, and Oriental rugs. The furnishings are child friendly to accommodate the Gandys’ five-year-old son, James, but suit the scale and tone of the sophisticated house. In the foyer, for instance, Griffin paired framed fabric panels with upholstered stools that serve as an ideal spot for dropping bags, kids’ stuff, and other everyday items. Wallcoverings in many rooms add a layer of interest, sometimes subtle, sometimes not. A blue-velvet ottoman in the living room serves as a chic focal point, but it’s also a “stage” where James likes to dance, showing that an old house can be full of modern life. “We loved the formality of the original moldings and trim work,” says Griffin. “But we wanted this house to be a bit more playful for the young family.”

Ansley Park Craftsman
Georgia natives Laura Beth Gandy, an internal medicine physician, and Drew Gandy, an attorney, enjoy the proximity to Midtown amenities and Piedmont Park with their son, James.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Ansley Park Craftsman
Grass cloth walls and built-ins lend a library feeling to the family room. A Wesley Hall sofa clad in fabric from Lewis and Sheron is both cozy and chic. The framed map of Boston references the homeowners’ stint up north.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Ansley Park Craftsman
A starting point for the master bedroom was the four-poster bed from Williams-Sonoma Home, with nightstands made with bone inlay. “I love a collected vibe, and those chests seem to fit the bill,” says Maggie Griffin.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Ansley Park Craftsman
An antique rug, with handsome drapes and window-seat fabrics from Lacefield Designs, allows son James’s room to grow as he does.

Photograph by Brian Bieder

Ansley Park CraftsmanRESOURCES | Interior designer Maggie Griffin, maggiegriffindesign.com Entryway Wall paint color: “Kendall Charcoal” by Benjamin Moore, benjaminmoore.com. Ceiling color: “Half Moon Crest” by Benjamin Moore. Framed panels: Schumacher fabric with framing by Purple House Gallery, fschumacher.com, purplehousegallery.com. Stools: Gabby Home, gabbyhome.com. Rugs: Looms and Lighting through Maggie Griffin Design Studio, loomsandlighting.com. Dining room Grasscloth wallcovering: Schumacher. Window treatment fabric: Thibaut Design, thibautdesign.com. Table: Bliss Studio from Martin Furniture and Design in Gainesville, martinfurnitureanddesign.com. Console: Le Chateau European Interiors, Scott Antique Markets, scottantiquemarket.com. Light fixture: Houzz, houzz.com. Rug: Myers Carpet, myerscarpet.com. Art: Allison James through the Maggie Griffin Design Studio. Sconce: Circa Lighting, circalighting.com. Living room Sofa, ottoman, and blue check chairs: Lewis and Sheron, lsfabrics.com. Art over sofa: Renee Bouchon, reneebouchon.com. Leather chair: Wesley Hall, wesleyhall.com. Daybed: Bliss Studio recovered in Lee Jofa fabric, leejofa.com. Daybed pillows and cushions: Lacefield Designs mixed with Jim Thompson fabrics, lacefielddesigns.com, jimthompsonfabrics.com. Lamps: Maggie Griffin Design Studio. Wall color: “China White” by Benjamin Moore. Kitchen Window treatments: Schumacher. Banquette: Ballard Designs, ballarddesigns.com. Master bedroom Bed: Williams-Sonoma Home, williamssonomahome.com. Bedding: Annie Selke, annieselke.com. Mirrors: Mirror Image Home, mirrorimagehome.com. Pillows: Custom, Kravet with Samuel and Sons trim, Schumacher. Coffee table: Serena and Lily, serenaandlily.com. Sofa and chairs: Custom, Ballard Designs. Powder room Wallpaper: Schumacher. Sink basin: Pottery Barn, potterybarn.com. Mirror, sconces, and ceiling light: Shades of Light, shadesoflight.com. Family room Sofa: Wesley Hall through Lewis and Sheron. Chair: Wesley Hall through Lewis and Sheron in a Thibaut plaid. Grass cloth: Thibaut. James’s room Natural rug: Ballard Designs. Antique rug: Scott Antique Markets. Cushion fabric, drapery fabric: Lacefield Designs. Mirror: Pottery Barn. Lamps: Wayfair, wayfair.com.

This article appears in our Winter 2019 issue of Atlanta Magazine’s HOME.

Advertisement